Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

What capo

For those who play guitar what capo do you use and what are your likes and dislikes about it. I’m a beginner but don’t like to buy cheap (junk) toys.LOL… I have already jumped off the bridge when it comes to picks. Wegen bluegrass and Blue chip tad 40. Time to buy a good capo.

well the best is a Elliot Capo —> elliottcapos.com/

they don’t come cheep but I have to say very nice I don’t own one however a friend has one and I was lucky to try it at a jam

the one I like is a Paige Capo --> paigemusical.com/
I have both the click Paige and there regular capo I would not recommend the click as it has a tendency to slip they will tell you they had a defective batch but I sent for a replacement and it had the same problems on a plus side they were very, very fast in the sending of one to replace my broken one and they have a lifetime warranty

the nice thing about both capos are they have Controllable tension, and can be stored behind the nut on the neck

hope it helps and keep a picking

paul :wink:

I can testify to the G7th capo. Using Ben’s advice, I bought one for my banjo and was amazed how nice it is. Always keeps in tune after use and very easy to use. A bit pricey but definitely worth it. Two thumbs up!

I think i will look into the G7th newport. Thanks for the advice guys.

I just ordered a G7 off amazon. my main concern is the possibility of a Keiser making an impression in the back of the neck. i have heard of the happening and suspect its the cause of a small indention in my collings at about the 2nd fret.

Back before I owned a capo, I used to use one of these:
[attachment=0]clamp.jpg[/attachment]

At least it gave me a feel for what it was like to play with a capo.

But now I just use a Shubb capo.

— Begin quote from "Paul"

I have both the click Paige and there regular capo I would not recommend the click as it has a tendency to slip

— End quote