Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Original Tune

I’ve been dabbling with writing my own songs for a few months now. This is the first one with lyrics that I’ve felt like keeping. I was wondering if anyone was interested in turning it into a Netgrass project.

It was inspired by John Prine’s ‘Paradise’, which is obvious immediately. Lyrically it’s about my 75 minute commute home, with a bunch of references only a local would get, but hopefully it’s still general enough. Key of D, and 160 bpm here. I tried playing it at 180 and felt rushed. Butchered bits repeatedly, seemed to get worse with each take so I packed it in after about 10 attempts.

dropbox.com/s/ckexyp6pazvue … s.mp3?dl=0

I like it Jim. I had fun playing along on guitar. I’d be glad to jump in with whatever anyone else doesn’t do.
A couple comments:

1. Your mandolin is in tune with itself, but is a little flatter than standard. With many people 100% dependent on tuners for getting decent tuning, you may end up with some issues with people not being in tune with each other. With that said, I kind of admire it when I start playing with an album and find that they tuned to each other instead of a tuner.
  2. There were a couple places where the chord progression changed a bit or was unclear (for example the A chord coming out of the last chorus started on “Guy” whereas on the previous ones it seemed to go to A on “Me”). I’m not sure if that was intentional or not. It’s great either way, but it may be helpful for people collaborating to have a lead sheet (lyrics with chord changes above each lyric line).