Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Gonna buy....just a few Q's

I only held a mandolin for the 1st time, this week. I come from a fingerstyle guitar background, and I’m just getting into flatpicking the guitar, right now, also. The guitar’s coming along faster than I thought.

But, I also want a mandolin. Here’s what I DO know:

1. I want an F style. I understand the A’s might be a better value (from some background reading). That ma very well be true. But, I know what I like.

2. I can play the G, C, D open and the G closed chord. I wanted to make sure they were simple enough, before I got too far down the road. Successful test-drive.

Now…here’s what I DON’T know:

1. What’s the best bang for my buck…with a tentative price cap of +/- $500?

I’ve heard the Eastman name thrown around quite a bit. I’ve heard the loar mentioned. Both are close to that price range, with the “intro” F-style Eastman’s “I” am finding pricing out around $650. Does this sound right?

Open to any and all suggestions. And, I appreciate your input.

jeff

My Backup is a Eastman 515 and it is a great Mandolin, Not the Volume of My Pricetone or Gibson but Really good for a Import , when playing with a group however it needs to be played near a condenser mic for any real sound. I also have a Kentucky F style (630) that I have a ton of miles on , it was a good piece and I would suggest looking into them for a starter , just stay in the 600’s for your price range, They tend to have a kind of “Tinny” sound in the price range you mention but some people like that, I’m about to put it on Ebay, I never play it anymore.
Good luck on your purchase, its always fun getting into something new, I’m staring hard at the Dobro myself :mrgreen:

Hi Jeff, I’ve been there and done that so here’s what I think. If I had to start all over again with $500 I’d save another hundred or two and find a used Eastman 515 or equivilent pac-rim mandolin. You’re not going to get much bang for your buck on a new f style for that price.