Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

D'Addario XS Guitar Strings

So I’ve never liked any strings but EJ17’s, for the past five years since I started playing bluegrass guitar. I dislike everything different that I’ve tried - nothing else sparkles and snaps like regular phosphor bronze mediums. And coated strings of any kind are just untouchable :confounded::-1:

But @Luke_L bought me a set of these D’Addario XS mediums at IBMA, and I just LOVE them!!! They have a very thin, light coating, but it is practically invisible. They feel SO good under my fingers - slippery smooth and glossy, even after many hours of being played with sweaty fingers. And they’re loud and bright just like the standard mediums. It’s been a week now, 3 stage shows and lots of practice & rehearsals later, and these strings haven’t died. (And I haven’t even snapped them. :slightly_smiling_face:) They’re well worth the price of $17.99. I think these are going to be my new favorite strings!

Has anybody else tried these?

https://a.co/d/enDQd26

10 Likes

Cool! I’ve tried the XS, but on mandolin. They didn’t last me really any longer than uncoated strings. I know @CalebEllis likes em. Haven’t tried them on guitar, though I have tried the XTs, same deal. I think the XSs are actually supposed to have a thicker coating than the XTs. For me though, I have enough Elixirs to last me through the stringpocalypse. :ok_hand:

HEY!!!

https://store.banjobenclark.com/collections/guitar-strings/products/daddario-xsapb1356-xs-series-acoustic-phosphor-bronze-medium-13-56

:joy:

4 Likes

XS coating is 10 times thinner than a human hair according to the write up. I don’t like the feeling of coating on strings but this is hardly noticeable and feels better than none.

2 Likes

Oops I didn’t even think to look if Banjo Ben sold them. Do you use them personally @BanjoBen?