Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

What's the difference between banjo and guitar?

I’ve been playing guitar for a few years now and I think it’d be really wicked to play some banjo too :slight_smile: but before I got out and actually buy a banjo, what’s the difference? Would I be able to just pick up a banjo and basically play, or are they completely different kinda thing and I’d have to learn a whole new instrument from scratch? Hope that made sense!

Then you could be “Banjo Benjamin!” I am primarily a guitar guy, but I tried banjo for a little while (a month). In essence, if your experience is like mine, there are many things about your guitar experience that will make learning banjo easier than starting from scratch. Your left hand will feel right at home in short order. The right hand has a fair amount of transference from guitar as well if you have done much finger picking (finger style). I never got comfy with the finger and thumb picks, but I probably didn’t have them setup right. I think having Ben’s vids would make the transition much easier (at the time I did it Ben didn’t have his site). If you can borrow a banjo for a bit, that’s a good way to see if you want to pursue it.
Best of luck!

Oh, wait… I’ve heard this one…

Q: What’s the difference between banjo and guitar?
A: About 40 IQ points

:smiley:

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

now just a second larry! i’ve got a prob…darn drooled on the keyboard,again!

Isn’t that why they leave open backs on the banjo… to catch the drool? :smiley:

i don’t know about that but i was able to tell that the stage in my church was level,drool was coming out both sides of my mouth! :laughing: :laughing: