Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Website Framework/Technology

Hey…I really like the layout and functionality of the site. It looks like it’s .NET is that right (except for this forum which is obviously php)?

Web forms or just ASP? I’m a web dev and have been brushing up on my .NET. .NET MVC has been giving me fits so I’m thinking about focusing more on asp or web forms. Just curious as to how this site ticks if anyone has tech answers.

Ok now back to the pickin’…thanks! :smiley:

Mike

— Begin quote from "mswhat"

.NET MVC has been giving me fits so I’m thinking about focusing more on asp or web forms. :smiley:

— End quote

If MVC itself is giving you fits, I would suggest the Head First Design Patterns book. It’s one of my all time favorite tech books. If it’s the .Net MVC framework… good luck :slight_smile:

Thanks Mike, I’ll look that up. It’s specifically the “m” part of mvc…had so much trouble figuring out data access. Not sure forms or asp is any easier.

You a web dev? I’m a cold fusion guy but have started a long overdue look at .net.

That book is one of the few truly enjoyable books one can find on design patterns. As far as data access, it’s kind of tough to get started, but once you do, it’s a pretty much the same thing over and over. If you use SQL, I am not a huge fan of the language, but there are tons of examples out there. Admittedly, it’s pretty powerful. If starting from scratch, there is something that I am not sure it makes it easier, but it’s a really neat thing once you get it configured… that would be codeSmith. We used it for our data access objects. Once you got it configured, it was automagic… just press a button and it produces data access classes.