Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Video looper - app/program

As useful as Ben’s videos are, as a bluegrass newbie I find it hard to use the videos without having to constantly click back and repeat portions over and over. This really breaks my concentration and keeps me from learning as fast as I could be since I am constantly having to fiddle with my computer.

Do any of you guys know of a good tablet app or Windows program that allows me to select a portion of a video and infinity loop it? It would also be nice to slow down the video too, but that is not absolutely necessary. The main thing I am looking for is to loop specific portions of a video so I can completely free my hands and practice a small portion of the song over and over until I can memorize it.

I have found a few very generic loopers that repeat entire videos, but I can not find one that allows me to select portions within the video. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Here is one I found, but the $100 price is a bit much for me at the moment. I was hoping to find something a bit more affordable; and hopefully one that will run on a tablet instead of a PC.
videosurgeon.net/

Hey Alex,
I am not aware of an easy way to do what you want with the videos (that’s not to say it doesn’t exist). I might be off base, but it seems like you would have to download the video and run it locally from the hard drive. With that said, have you used TablEdit with the TEF files? It allows someone to slow things down and repetitively play a measure (or any selection). Under the MIDI file menu is the repeat option, and also under there you can select “Play|This measure only” or “Play|Selection only.” You can slow it down by selecting “relative speed” and setting the speed to whatever you want. I think that might provide the type of repetition you are looking for when first learning a song. The TablEdit viewer with these features is free and I think it’s a pretty handy tool.