Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

This is me after 6 months

Hello,

i filmed this yesterday so i can keep track of my progress. This is all the songs i can play and about as fast as i can play before making too many mistakes. I have been playing for 6-7 months. I only have a cheap banjo for learning (i’m saving for a ‘better’ banjo) and i play left handed. I have never played an instrument before so this is my first real go at anything musical. I am quite happy with my progress and if you had asked me 6 months ago if i could imagine myself playing like this i would have said “no way!”

I try to get 30 mins+ a day but sometimes i need to skip a day and take a break. I have only been using the Banjo Ben Clark online learning resources and find it quite good.

Hope this gives some other beginners some encouragement! Please don’t critique my playing too much! :blush:

cheers

Nice job Samy!
That’s a great idea to save snapshots of your progress. Keep it up! I look forward to watching future installments.

Left handed banjo? I’m not even going to crack a joke… it’s too easy! :smiley:

You’re sounding good, there, Samy. Especially considering you have no previous musical background. If you’ve come this far in 6 months, just think how you’ll be ripping it up in a year’s time!

BTW, that’s one nice pickin’ porch you’ve got, too.

Thanks! I’m currently working on Blackberry Blossom, it’s the first of the ‘intermediate’ songs on Ben’s website i’m giving a go. I’ve been enjoying the earning process so far! I really need to work on my fretting ring finger, it’s so slow!

cheers

Sounding good!

You’ll keep making steady progress because you’re learning the fundamentals correctly from the ground up.

You’re playing the banjo left handed AND upside down. That’s quite a feat of contortion!

Dang Samy…I’m impressed!! Keep on pickin’ and then come out to Colorado and pick with me!