Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

The Old Rugged Cross? Can't find it

Way back a bit I learned the Old Rugged Cross off this site and now I went back to review it as I need to try and remember a part and can’t find it?? Am I just missing it?

The only thing I was able to find on the whole site is this:

https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/old-rugged-cross-guitar

I remember that one a while back on the old site, it was one of my favorites. The licks Ben came up with for the mandolin on that tune would make shivers run down your spine. Sure wish he’d bring it back. By the way he included that instrumental on the Purple Hulls CD “Close To Home”. You should check it out if you haven’t heard it.

1 Like

I had to pull it down due to copyright law. I hope to have it back sometime in the future!

@BanjoBen, I’m no copyright lawyer, but I’m an internet bloodbound (as you’re already aware…lol) and I work Navy contracts for a living. Research is my name. I’m curious, who is telling you it’s copyrighted? Everything I’ve found shows that song to be in the public domain. I know many have remade it, but the original was written by George Bennard in 1912 and published in 1915:

According to Copyright law, “all works published in the United States before January 1, 1923, are in the public domain.”:

Effect of 1976 Act on Length of Subsisting Copyrights
The 1976 Copyright Act carried over the system in the
1909 Copyright Act for computing copyright duration for
works protected by federal statute before January 1, 1978,
with one major change: the length of the renewal term was
increased to 47 years. The 1998 Copyright Term Exten-
sion Act increased the renewal term another 20 years to 67
years. Thus the maximum total term of copyright protec-
tion for works already protected by January 1, 1978, has
been increased from 56 years (a first term of 28 years plus a
renewal term of 28 years) to 95 years (a first term of 28 years
plus a renewal term of 67 years). Applying these standards, all