Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Suspensions - sus chords

so what’s the point of suspensions?

thanks to ben’s lesson, i know how to recognize them, and how to construct them.

but what do we do with them, other than play them?

a lot of rock song solos seem to use them. i now realize that several of the rock solos i like to play are built out of varying sus chords. this seems to be so the singer can basically sing the same note over several different sus chords - this both saves the voice (many of these rock singers have extremely limited range) and builds drama and tension through the changing harmony which is then resolved when the chord goes back to the regular major chord.

is there some standard way that song writers use sus chords? they are a lot easier to play on piano than on stringed instruments…

I loved Ben’s sus chord video. It was the best treatment of sus chords I have seen.
Julian, I am no expert, but sus chords are my bread and butter in certain keys and song types. 2 chords are great as a base chord and 4 chords are great transitional chords. When doing many song types in D, I’ll go drop D and use the Dsus2 as the root chord. Allison Kraus and US, and some other “newer” grass groups live off them (it’s just a guess, but I suspect AKUS uses D2 more than a straight D). Dsus2 has a darker and more complex sound than D. In fact, if you don’t get an F# in the mix, I think it can work with a minor scale as well. In alot of the praise music that I do, if it’s in A, I’ll use the open A, B and E as drones while I double the melody and harmony on the D and G string. It sounds rich and is typically easy to do. When playing in G, I often use G5, C2 (some call it a C9) and D2 as my 1, 4, 5. You can also pick out the melody and harmony on the G and B string while droning on the D and E strings (which would be working around a D2). In Bluegrass, if the song hops quickly from G to C and back, I’ll use the C2 form, as the fingering is much easier. In short, they are just