Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Slotted Headstock

Does a slotted head stock always take nylon strings? I came across a guitar that’s 36” long, (2) quarter notes on a slotted head stock, but no other identifiable markings to speak of. I’m guessing it is an older children’s guitar.

5 Likes

C F Martin has produced many slotted head steel string guitars.

5 Likes

Thanks. I’m new to the art and it seemed every time I saw a slotted head it had nylon strings. So can you pretty much put steel or nylon strings on any guitar?

1 Like

ABSOLUTE NO ON THAT ONE. Classical guitars are made for nylon (or originally gut) strings, which carry much lower tension, and therefore require much less robust construction. If you place steel strings on a classical guitar the likely outcome will be that the instrument comes apart. Either the neck will come loose, or more probably the bridge will separate from the body.

4 Likes

Also putting nylon strings on a steel string guitar is unlikely to be satisfying because steel string guitars are more heavily built (and have narrower necks) than guitars intended for nylon strings, as Robert in the previous post notes, to accommodate the higher tension of metal strings. I have a couple slotheads; other than looks, they are not much different to regular paddle head guitars.

4 Likes

Look inside the sound body/box they sometimes have stamps or serial # or a brand of some sort on the inside to help identify it. I might be wrong but check there. Or ask Jake! He’s a lot smarter than I am! in fact everybody’s a lot smarter than me! :upside_down_face:

5 Likes

@epjacobs,

I am going out on a limb to show my ignorance on this…

Is this why it is rather important to identify an Accoustic as a STEEL guitar versus a general term of Accoustic or Classical?

I don’t have/play Accoustic… (Obviously) but just never pondered this before. I plan Mando and Banjo