Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Right hand control

I have been playing for a few years, but I have an issue that I just cannot seem to overcome. I can play slow or fast, but when I try to play the medium speed, my right hand just doesn’t work. I use the correct right hand technique (you pretty much have to have the loose wrist to play fast), but most people play that medium speed. When I play with a band I am fine, because fast songs are fast and slow songs are slow, but I might as well stick to back up in jam sessions.

I have tried doing right hand exercises increasing speed incrementally, but nothing has worked so far. When I ask other players, they are usually baffled when they hear me play fast tempos but then I am unable to play the medium speed. Anyone on here ever have this issue and been able to overcome it?

Thanks

That’s interesting. I might have a related issue. I can play eighth notes up to a certain speed, but something different is going on when I play fast tremolo. It’s like a change of gears. I am comfortable playing faster than certain speeds and slower than certain speeds, but playing at certain high speeds is difficult. I am not sure where that break happens, but I’d guess it’s around 220 BPM eighth notes. I can play considerably faster with tremolo (and on a good day it is smooth and even) but I don’t have the kind of control over each note where I could cross strings accurately. I am sure I am not the only person to think, “Man I wish I could accurately pick out individual notes and cross strings at fast tremolo speed.” If I could do that then I’d be pretty decent.

I said it’s like a change of gears, but maybe it’s my brain disconnecting and letting my hand do it’s own thing. Maybe it’s some kind of a mental thing and is self-fulfilling. I know I have done that in many things in life… I convince myself I can’t do something (when I actually could).