Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Question about picks

This is gonna seem mighty dumb probably. But I’m a woman. I want my acrylic nails… I’ve sacrificed (happily and willingly) my left hand’s nails down to almost the nail bed. I still got the acrylic on but I can hold down the strings just fine. But is it okay if I just use a thumb pick and pick with the nails on my right hand? The nails are about as long as what the finger picks would come out to be and in fact peek out a little over the pick. I’m pickin just fine but I’m a beginner so my beginner’s ear may not know what I’m hearing! Acrylics help me to NOT bite my fingernails (nasty habit I know and this is how I break it) so I don’t want to lose them even if I have to walk around with one hand with short nails and another hand with long. A friend told me to paint on my left hand with the short nails each letter of the word banjo on each fingernail to let people know why haha.

Just got my banjo about a week ago for part of my Christmas :slight_smile: Oscar Schmidt. Working on the rolls and cripple creek videos tonight. Sat down at 12:30 am and looked up thinking it’d only be 1:30 and danged if it wasn’t almost 4 am. Time flies when you’re having fine. I have a background in piano since I was five and guitar since I was 11 (I never used picks for guitar either except for a thumb pick). Ain’t played guitar in years though so I’m getting the callouses back!