Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Progress Update

As some of you may know i have been fighting issues with my right hand for going on a year now. At first i lost the ability to perform banjo rolls with my thumb and index fingers which forced me to put down my banjo and go back to trying to learn guitar. Well that was going ok for a month or so and then I lost the ability to hold the flat pick reliably which forced me to put down the guitar. Then my right hand got to the point that I could no longer type with it, which is a HUGE problem as I am a computer engineer and not being able to type with both hands slows me down considerably.

So i started out in february with an emg which showed an irritated C6 in my neck, got sent to ortho doc and PT for that, neck better than before but hand still messed up so after 2nd emg shows no more C6 issue get sent to hand doc who concludes its writers cramp and refers me to neurologist. See neurologist a few weeks ago and diagnosis is focal hand dystonia, not cool, google it, its pretty much a death sentence for my music career :frowning: Neurologist wants to do botox injections providing insurance covers but I dunno if i want to do them or not but dont see what other choice I have. I have also been thinking about trying to switch to lefty guitar since I am left handed anyway but dont want to jump into that until i see what the shots do i guess. Pretty depressed about the whole deal which is why i havent been around last few months.

Wow, I am sure ready for some good news on your hand. I am sure you are too. I’ve been thinking about you from time to time and wondering how you were doing. Thanks for the update. I am glad to hear that the neck issue is better. Is that what caused the focal hand dystonia?
Keep us updated. I’ll be praying for you.