Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Practice Programs and Schedules

Greetings All,

Relatively new to the site here, but many thanks to Ben for putting together such a stellar archive of great tutorials, lessons, tabs, videos…etc. And a special thanks to everyone for the consistently entertaining forum posts and replies.

As a self-taught guitarist, I have never had the privilege of working one-on-one with a qualified teacher. Though its been a great journey, over the past few years, working through the basics on my own, I’d like to hear from some folks that have developed their own practice routine or have had one constructed for them based on their goals.

Perhaps there is a “common path to mastering the guitar” that you musically educated folks are privy to. In that I mean a set of skills that should be developed in some sort of order and will help build the foundation for improving from beginner to intermediate and beyond.

Whatever the case may be, I’m hoping we can discuss practice initiatives here as well as posting any type of “EUREKA” moments that helped you break out and get up to a new level.

Here is an example from years ago when I just picked up my first guitar. This is pretty much square one, but I thought it may be a good jump off point:

I never thought I would learn all the notes on the fretboard. It seemed like the 6 strings with 12 frets was too much. Too many options. Then someone told me that if you stretched out a single string and the frets 1000 miles long, the notes along the string would repeat in exactly the same order over and over. Then I carried that idea over to learning scales on a single string…and then its relation to the adjacent string, and so on, and it opened up the whole world of the fretboard for me!

I don’t know, perhaps that little yarn will help just one of you guys out there…

So that’s where I’m at tonight. Hope all is well with everyone and Happy Thanksgiving.

The Only Stranger to Make it Back Down from Rocky Top,
Christopher