Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Playing Guitar at Church

Hi all,
I started playing guitar at my church a couple weeks ago, acoustic playing toned-down contemporary style. We did this one, and I was really tempted to play banjo, but we did it to modern. I still did some bluegrass bass-struming though:wink:. So, if you play at church, what style do you play, and how could I start a bluegrass gospel group at my church? THanks
Harrison

2 Likes

Imo, they can’t deny you a banjo on anything from rend collective. Try working out all your parts on banjo and then conveniently forget your guitar :grin:

3 Likes

Good plan, but I play the pastor’s guitar because it is amplified. I have ask to play banjo and mandolin, but the leader wants to do it more “toned-down contemporary”.

2 Likes

When you play anywhere, including church, we must try our best to play what the song and arrangement needs. Many times that’s not grassy, unfortunately, but I do try to throw in a bit here and there.

3 Likes

Along the lines of what Ben said, give it some time. Get to know them, and let them get to know you. If you are a regular, you will likely drive the sound and the selections in a particular way. If you sing as well, you likely will soon get opportunities for leading smaller group things. I have done quite a bit of grass for the little guys. Kids don’t worry about if it is “their” style… they just enjoy it. I have done a few main service bluegrass worship sets over the years, but they are a changeup as opposed to bread and butter pitch.