Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Playing around with a capo

Hi,

I am stumbling around with a capo, experimenting without knowing anything about what I am doing really. :slight_smile:

Wondering is it possible to place a capo on the frets to play in the Key of ‘D’, I have learnt to re-tune strings to achieve D but is a bit of a pain to change the tuning of the strings for one tune.

Regards,
JB

You can capo to D on the the 7th fret but it doesn’t usually sound that great capoed so high. I will usually play out of D chord position and only tune 5th string to A or leave it at G depending on the song. I’ve been working on playing more out of D chord and am loving the sound.

C chord capoed at 2 will result in D also

'…I will usually play out of D chord position and only tune 5th string to A…"

Thank you, I am not quite sure what you by 'playing out of D position…or…C chord capoed at 2.

Sorry I am new to the capo thing.:slight_smile:

Regards,
JB

In the key of G the basic chords you will use are G, C, and D.
In the key of D the basic chords you will use are D, G, and A.
In the key of C the basic chords you will use are C, F, and G.

These are the I, IV, and V chords of each of these keys (the most often used)

You can play out of the keys of C and D without using your capo, just by playing the chord patterns that go to that key. If you know how to make each of these chords.

Hope this helps, if not ask and I’ll try and explain further or might write the chords out in tab. Is there a specific song you are trying to do in the key of D? This might help the decision of how to approach it as all 3 different ways to play out of D that I’ve mentioned have somewhat different sounds and lend themselves to different songs better or worse.

Thank you, that helps a lot.