Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Picks

Hey all, currently I’m using a dunlop 205 jazz pick for mando. I’ve been playing guitar with it for about 15 yrs. Super thick and like it a lot. So far the cross over to mando with the pick is going ok… Just curious what everybody else is using?

Mark

Several threads on picks here…

viewforum.php?f=21

Cool! Thanks for the link.

I haven’t tried the 205, but I tend to use a thicker, rounder pick (currently a Wegen M150) for mandolin than I use for guitar. I think I remember Ben saying he uses the same type of pick for both guitar and mandolin, though.

I use the Dunlop 208, which I think is the larger cousin of the 205.

I’ve always liked the 205 but am tempted to try one of those blue chip picks. They way people talk about them it makes them sound like they have magic dust in them or something… :mrgreen:

— Begin quote from "flatout9"

They way people talk about them it makes them sound like they have magic dust in them or something… :mrgreen:

— End quote

They better have something in em for $35 a pick?!? I am curious too but can’t bring myself to pay that for a pick. As Gene Simons said of make up before being out voted, “Fog Hat does not need this to rock!”

That said the dunlops are pretty thick at 2mm, I don’t know if blue chips come that thick?

Blue chip has picks that are at least 2mm thick. I remember they had a TD 100 which I think would have been like 2.5mm thick. With that said, I find there is almost no flex in their “50” size picks (so I don’t need anything thicker). I have a TPR-50 I think “50” represents .050" which is roughly equal to 1.25mm.

Blue chips are nice. They are very durable. They have great tone. They play great. If you want the best buy in a pick, these are not it. If you tend to hang on to picks for a while, they are worth a shot. With all that said, it won’t fundamentally change who you are as a player.