Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Order of Ben's lesson

I’m new to the mandolin and was wondering how to approach a could of things.

What is the order that I should learn the mandolin in that Ben provides?

What percentage should one spend on songs vs chords vs practicing rhythm?

Thanks for any advice.

Howdy Hoss,

I’m relatively new to mandolin and this site as well. I’m about 2.5 years into playing the instrument and about 1 year into this site, which has been a tremendous help. I didn’t do it this way, but if had to do it all over again it would go something like this:

Hit the Basic Video section and work through that top row, The introduction, the Tab, the Strum packages. I wouldn’t necessarily have to have any of them mastered before I added a few tunes into the mix. Old Joe Clark and Cripple Creek were both good, simple melodies. Good introduction to double stops in that OJC song.

And the go from there. I can’t keep up with the releases, I’ll never do them all . But I listen to the previews, and work on them as time permits if I think it’s something I’ll keep down the line. And every tune always has tidbits of great information embedded in the middle so always worth watching all the way through even if you don’t later need the stroke-by-stroke account.

You’re going to love it here. Ben’s great, and everyone here are too!

Jim,

Thank you for your help. I look forward to learning more of the mandolin and making more friends. I can already tell you that I this is becoming addicting.

Grand Pa Corn:

I’m relatively new to mandolin and this site as well.
I had to put the 5 string aside for awhile … Trying the Mando!
I got here because I enjoy The Purple Hulls Gospel music, Ben and His Sisters can play !

This is my first time taking Lessons!

Is this a good way to start?

Basic Video section and work through that top row, The introduction, the Tab, the Strum packages.

THEN Where?

Are the songs in order of complexity in the basic Section?