Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

One more stupid question

I freely admit as I stand before you, with a wrench in my hand, I’m a much better mechanic than a musician. I feel sorry for those with no mechanical inclination and do my best to help them at work. I really love it when they plop a turbo on my counter and I can tell them there is nothing wrong with it and save them hundreds of dollars! I’m a firm believer in Karma. So here goes my stupid music question. What would be the best roll to learn first to give me the most options when picking songs to learn later? I’m thinking, why learn to drive a stick shift if all you will ever drive is going to be an automatic? So I’m thinking why learn a simple forward roll when there are no songs you want to play with that roll. Right?

That’s a hard one to answer. I still consider myself a beginner, but with the songs that I have learned, I use a combination of all of them. However, if I had to pick a “most prominent” one, it would be the forward roll.

I know the stick shift takes more time to learn than the auto, but my advice is to start grinding those gears. Keep at it and before you know it, you’ll be floating them with ease.

By the way, I’m a self-proclaimed shade tree mechanic. Been restoring a few old cars the last few years. You do any restorations?

Take Ben’s lesson Banjo 103 Right Hand Rolls. Work on this for a week or so.

Rolls are just tools. The goal is to be able to play songs and such. Most songs can be broken down into a combination of different rolls. So learning rolls will acquaint your hands with the necessary movements to play these songs. But the point is NOT to learn rolls, it’s to play songs.

So there is not one magic roll that you can learn. You have to teach your fingers on how to move. Ben’s lesson will get your hands and fingers acquainted with the most important movements you need to learn.