Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Nut spacing or width

I have played only one mandolin and the strings are so close together it is hard to play . Yeah I know I got tree stumps for fingers but what I want is a good run down on nut width and where the tone starts to suffer from being to wide, if at all. I also imagine some of the chords would be harder to make if the width is to wide.

I have two wide neck mandos. I think one is 1 1/4" and the other is 1 3/16". I don’t think it starts getting harder to make chords. It just a little less elegant if that makes sense. The 1 3/16" also has a radiused fretboard where my bigger one is flat. The wider, flatter one just feels chunkier. I probably play a little better on the smaller, radiused one. I think it boils down to personal preference.

— Begin quote from "welder4"

I also imagine some of the chords would be harder to make if the width is to wide.

— End quote

I’m no expert on mandolins, but I think 1 1/8" is the most common or “standard” nut width. My two are both 1 3/16" which is what would commonly be called a “wide” neck. My Breedlove is thicker than my Copperhead and refering back to your quote above, I think the thickness becomes more of a problem with chording than nut width. The wider neck makes picking much more comfortable in my opinion.

BTW: My Breedlove’s still for sale if you’re looking for a mandolin. :slight_smile:

My MT2 is 1 1/8. I’m not a big guy so have never thought twice about that sort of thing. But sometimes our front man borrows it for a tune. He’s only doing simple runs and 2 finger chords, but he IS a big guy, 6-4, 260, and he’s never noticed a problem. Well, except from the ribbing he gets from us because the instrument looks so small in his hands.