Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

New to it all

Hi everyone.
As it says, I am new to it all. New to the forum, new to banjos and in fact don’t even have one yet. :open_mouth:
I just wanted to do a bit of twiddling nothing important. :laughing:
So I needed some words of wisdom.
I have been playing guitar since I was a kid; in fact I first picked up a ukele banjo that was my uncle’s but never really got into it. So I turned to guitars. I am now retired and fancied playing a** four** string banjo. :slight_smile:
Here is my question and bear in mind I am not a finger style player though I play bass (used to until I retired a few years ago) so have some finger style ability in the first two fingers. :wink:
Should I get and tune a banjo to guitar and if so should I used a bass tuning like EADG or guitar tuning DGBE or even something off the wall like ADGB? Or should I use the standard tunings which I anticipate will be hard for me at my age to switch to!!! :blush: I do not want to use finger picks. :unamused:

I will probably use a plectrum but I would like to use two fingers like on the bass. :confused:

I am not really able to read the black dots on paper called music - I can if you all can wait ten minutes per note - and tab is slow. I tend to play by ear.

All advice would be appreciated. :smiley:

Howdy helijohn!
I don’t want to try to over analyze what you wrote, but it sounds like you are really doubting your ability to learn new things and to that, I say “don’t worry about it.” Most of us here aren’t spring chickens. None of us know everything and all of us are learning. That’s why we are here.