Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

New Strings

Hi
When i got my banjo one of the strings was broken so i figured obviously to replace the full set, which i have ordered online. Then i thought am i ordering the right set for a beginner ?. I have never even seen a banjo before my son got me this one as a gift so you can call me an absolute newbie when it comes to this instrument. My question is what type of gauge string do i buy being a beginner or doesn’t it matter, i have ordered Medium gauge but can order another set if they aren’t right.
Any Help Appreciated
Tim

P.S I will probably be posting other newbie questions so please don’t shoot me down, also i didn’t realise until i was watching a banjo video that the letters of my name are mainly the letters of the fingers used in picking. Thumb, Index, and Middle. Maybe i am detined to be a banjo player :slight_smile:. well i do hope so.

Thanks for reading

Thanks mark, i used to play guitar a good few years back and remember when i first started my fingers at the ends used to actually ache due to pressing down on the strings to play chords, i am following Ben’s way of installing the strings that i saw on video. With guitar i just whipped off all six then restrung it, i will have to remember one at a time. I tried with the 4 strings on it sort of to get a feel and the strings that are on it hardly needed any pressure at all, I didn’t check the tuning with it only having 4 so will have to wait for my new ones to arrive. Thanks again :slight_smile: