Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

New beginner from UK

Hi to all. I’ve been learning banjo for about 4 months and glad I found this site which I hope, will improve my playing.
I’ve played guitar for over 30 years, but always wanted to learn bluegrass banjo. Not knowing much about banjo’s and not knowing how I would get on, I bought just a basic beginners resonator 5 string banjo, which seems OK. Only problem I found is, the arm rest sticks up a bit high and tilts in at a slight angle. Because of the type of ‘L’ shoes used, the arm rest will lower no further. (Poor design of a cheap banjo I guess) However I’ve persevered. I probably started off trying to learn a difficult tune, (Foggy mountain breakdown) but after 4 months, I can play it, well the first part, not the up the neck part,if not that well.
One thing I find, and I don’t know if this is common to beginners, or its just me. When I first pick the banjo up, I cannot play it so well as I did the day previous, but after about 20 minutes improve again. I still keep hitting the odd wrong string which is really annoying and have to re-adjust my right hand position. Also I cannot keep my ring finger secured. My little finger, I can keep anchored, but my ring finger flaps about a bit. I read somewhere that it’s nothing to worry about, as long as the little finger keeps anchored.
How important is keeping the ring finger anchored? Is just the little finger good enough? Or does having both fingers anchored improve playing?

Welcome Jon!

I am not a banjo guy, but I suspect it is fairly common to have issues with hitting the wrong string. When I first started playing guitar with fingers, it was similar. The more you do it, the better it gets. As far as the ring finger anchoring issue goes, I am going to guess that isn’t anything to worry about, but I defer to others who know more about banjo.

Again, welcome and have fun!

I played guitar too.