Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

I'm Officially A Goodtimer

Welp, I guess my latest purchase of a Deering Goodtime banjo officially makes me a Goodtimer :sunglasses:

As I mentioned in a different thread, the whole reason I bought a Deering Goodtime was because of it’s take-anywhere-ness. As a truck driver, I wanted something I could take on the road in the seat next to me and it be there for ease of playing (my “truck hound”, so to speak). Shortly after deciding that this was the kind of banjo that I needed, Deering put an add in the Banjo Newsletter that called it the Take Anywhere Banjo, and featured a guy holding it at the base of a mountain next to his tent. Being as I’m a sucker for advertising, and like the thought of a banjo that I can take anywhere (I’m an avid camper/hiker as well), I was pretty much sold.

I bought it a week ago and this week it has served its purpose far beyond what I thought it could. It’s light - which makes a great travel companion, it’s has great tone (WAY better than I thought a $400 banjo could ever have), and there’s not a lot of money put into it for eye candy - so I don’t mind if it gets a little scratch or dent here and there.

Here’s a collage picture of it. I call it “Vanilla Pudding”, because it’s smooth like pudding.

[attachment=1]Goodtime.JPG[/attachment]

And here’s the truck hound in action:

[attachment=0]Goodtime.truckhound.JPG[/attachment]

My avatar also has a picture of me playing it.

Your passenger should have a seatbelt! :confused: It’s a law in most states you know.

Congrats on the new banjo. It looks nice, glad you’re liking it.

J.W.

Does Vanilla Pudding qualify you to drive in the carpool lane?

— Begin quote from "ldpayton"

Does Vanilla Pudding qualify you to drive in the carpool lane?

— End quote

I like the way you think.

[They need a stroking beard smiley]

Awesome! How did the action on it come setup (good/bad/middlin)?

— Begin quote from "mreisz"