Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

I need help in Indiana

I received a five string as a Christmas gift after years of interest, but not willing enough to buy one on my own. I’d convinced myself I have zero musical talent. Which may be true!!! I found one instructor that was 20 miles away, but after one lesson he didn’t want to see me again for 3 months. He was a great guy, just not the best teacher. I’m on the west side of Indianapolis and have not found anyone that teaches the banjo. What the heck am I to do? Can anyone recommend a simple roll to start with? I checked out the online free lesson on this site, but that didn’t teach me much. Sorry Ben. I can type like nobody’s business, so I thought this would be easy. I just need to learn the process and practice.
Thanks,
Jay

Ben’s ‘Section Rolls’ lesson (part of the Banjo 103 Right Hand Rolls lesson) is where I started.

The banjo is not easy to learn. I have been playing guitar for 28 years but I spent 7 or 10 days just doing the ‘Section Rolls’ lesson over and over again before I thought about tackling a song. I practised at least 2 hours (usually more) a day, 7 days a week.

Now this lesson will cost you $19.95 (well, subscription for a month will cost you $19.95). It depends on how badly you want to learn to play. For me, the price was not a problem if I was able to learn.

If you already tried out this lesson and that did not work for you, then that’s another story but if you didn’t try the Banjo 103 lesson, then I would think that if you really want to learn, $19.95 is not too much to spend.

If you haven’t tried it, there is a free tryout option which will give you access to more (I think) than just the free video lessons. I would sign up and check out the Banjo 103 lesson.