Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

I have large fingers keep muting notes

I have a problem I am a beginner with the banjo and I keep flatning the notes any suggestions?

With practice you can learn to play where your finger isn’t against the open string that needs to ring.

Say I am play a roll on the first, second, and 5th strings (foggy mtn Brkdwn). If I need to fret the second string on the third fret I will place my fretting finger toward the third string enough so the first string will ring clear. this works for most things.

Another option is to take your banjo to a luthier and see if there is room on the neck to separate the strings a bit farther apart. this can be done at the nut, the bridge or both depending on what the player is looking for, but it will also cost some money.

Hope this helps. good Luck!

Thanks for the suggestion anything helps

I am no banjo player, but it’s a common problem starting out on guitar. It takes some time to get used to stacking your fingers so they make contact with the strings you want and not on the ones you don’t want. With time and repitition, the problem will go away for the most part. I have seen some guys with great big mitts play itty bitty instruments (check out Israel Kamakawiwo’ole). After some time you can use it as an advantage by fretting more than one string at a time with a single finger on guitar (I suspect the same would come in handy on banjo).