Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

I am a bad guitar owner. I need to be punished

A tale of a downward sprial…

For years, I played fingerstyle. I could play a guitar and it would look almost the same after years of heavy regular use as when it was new. I have always tried to take great care of my guitars. I had a brief visit into classical and flamenco. I freaked out when I left minor dimples on one of my guitar’s top from playing flamenco. Years passed, I started flat picking. My guitars started to show the dings of playing with others and handing my guitars around. No big deal… they were “love” marks. I noticed I was starting to wear frets down much quicker with the repetitive practice with a firm attack. No big deal… it’s a fair trade to be pulling the tone out of it. I started playing at the church more regularly. My pinkie dragging on cowboy chords was starting to leave a mark. It irked me, but between playing and singing, I couldn’t concentrate on keeping my pinkie up. Last May, our music minister left. I offered to step in “until they found a replacement” (I don’t really think they are looking, but what do I know). Some of the songs involve fast strumming (think Mumford & Sons). I broke a pick on such a song. I hadn’t broken a pick in decades. About 4 months ago, I broke a G string (on my GPC guitar). I hadn’t broken a string since I can remember. I figured it was a bad string. A few weeks later, another G string broke. When I stripped off the strings to replace them, I noticed the saddle was notched. Problem solved! I sanded and buffed the saddle. I also noticed I was missing some finish around the soundhole… odd. Must have been a thin finish. I also noticed I needed to level and re-crown not too long after addressing the frets, so I did a “light” level and crown. This whole guitar seemed to be wearing at an alarming rate. I noticed the pick I used with it (I used a 1.0 Wegen for a little flex) had a scallop worn. I hit Dr. Google for reports of a worn pick causing