Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

How much time do you invest into serious practice?

I have been playing for ten years, I considered my self to be a intermediate player. I play in my church worship band and even was a worship leader in a very small church. I know all my chords and Barr chords, I thought pretty high of my self. The. I started looking on the web and at taking some serious lessons. I can me across Banjo Ben and thought tommy self why not give it a try. I went to the intermediate tab and started trying to learn.

WOW!! I realize I know nothing in the world of bluegrass. I can’t flat pick at all and I have a hard time playing fingerstyle. I moved back the the basic tab and started moving through the videos. I learned amazing grace, and basic rhythm. Amazing Grace did not take long but I can’t get down a bluegrass rhythm. I understand the concept I just hit all the wrong strings, is there a way to practice just that?

Also I am sort of retired now and I practice for 2-5 hours a day. I would think that basic rhythm would quickly be mastered with time like that but I guess I am doing some thing wrong

So here is the question, how much time are you putting in? Am I putting to much time in? What to secret to playing bluegrass?

Howdy Mort722,