Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Hit a brickwall with playing backup

hello everyone, i having trouble fully understanding how to play backup. i have watched bens videos over and over but just doesnt sound good at all when i put it into practice. Should i just go pay someone local to teach me or is Bens videos teaching the same that they will? just really want to learn this,and not be missing soemthing. any help i would be very thankful for… have a good day

I’ve been playing with Ben’s lessons for 2 1/2 years now. I just play on my own and my backup is pretty non-existant. For instance, in Ben’s most recent lesson, The Entertainer, the most difficult part of the lesson for me is playing the tabbed out backup.

That said, here is my take on backup after a couple of years. It is a lot harder than it looks. You need to have a lot of skill to play and create backup. You need to be able to play your chords up and down the neck without thinking. You need to have a nice vocabulary of licks, turnarounds and endings at your fingertips without thinking.

If you’ve only been at it a few months, then maybe it’s not too much to ask but if it was me, it would be. After 30 months of practicing, I am just now getting to the point where these things are starting to be a possibility. It’s a question of time and practice. Because it’s only by repeating the same things over and over again that they get drilled into my mind and hands.

If you have the above skills, then Ben’s backup lessons make more sense because he wants you to make your own backup. But if you’re still at the stage where you’re going ‘how does he do that?’ then they aren’t going to be too useful.

I have never taken any other lessons than Ben’s online lessons so I may be wrong about this. Maybe someone can really ‘teach’ you how to play backup. But in my case, it’s more like backup is coming to me as my skill level increases.

Good luck and keep on practicing and having fun!