Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Help break up the monotony please

I’m still fairly new to the 5 string, and totally love it. I’m active duty Air Force and fly a lot so I don’t get to practice as much as I’d like. I’ve got the rolls down good and am working on chords. ‘G’, ‘A’, and ‘C’ chords are pretty easy for me to transition to when utilizing and alternating thumb roll. The hard part for me is incorporating the ‘D’ and ‘F’. I space each chord change with an open ‘G’ to give myself time to prepare for the next chord. It’s slow go and frustrating to say the least. I need to break up the monotony to keep my interest, and I’d prefer to do it by learning some songs. Is this a bad idea? Anyone have any other ideas or exercises I could use that will help me with smooth transition chord changes? Thanks in advance, and any help or words of wisdom are appreciated. I plan on becoming a lifetime member within a few days.

Jason

I am not a banjo player, but by all means, I say play some songs. Even if you are just playing backing tracks or playing with a CD or YouTube. If you do a song in G, that will cover G, C and D. If you do a song in C, that will cover C, F and G. So those two very common keys will cover the chords that are giving you trouble. It’s great to work on fundamentals, but make sure you have some fun along the way as well!

I’m not a banjo player either, but I understand the monotony of practice all too well.

When I first started flatpicking guitar (about the same time that I joined up here), I would select one of Ben’s tabs and pound away at it with an enthusiasm that’s easy to get when trying something new. I would literally play the same piece of music for hours a day and it’s all I would play. I learned a bunch of stuff using this technique, but the most important thing I learned was that I needed to practice smarter.