Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Hearing Yourself in a Jam

I have trouble hearing myself when playing in a jam. I’m just learning to play some solos, and not being able to clearly hear myself can be disorienting. When the jams get bigger than eight to ten people, it gets pretty noisy.

Do any of you have this problem; and what do you recommend I do about it?

Just for the sake of context: I’m a beginning guitar player. I started out with an inexpensive Greg Bennett acoustic, and after a year of serious lessons bought a used year-2000 Martin DH-28. I started playing at some local bluegrass jams last summer, and that has helped my playing immensely. Playing in the jams was intimidating at first, but the folks I’ve been playing with have been very helpful and friendly. Most of them have been playing for 30 to 40 years, so there are lots of opportunity to learn from some seriously talented and generous players.

And let me confess that I’ve only searched the Guitar section for this topic. I assumed that since the guitar is the softest playing instrument in a bluegrass jam that I’d have a better chance of finding other players who’ve experienced a similar situation here.

If this topic has been covered elsewhere on the forum, please point me to that location.

Thanks for any thoughts or advice on this topic!

Chris

Hey Chris!
It is difficult to hear yourself on guitar when playing with a large group. If I am playing rhythm and I can hear myself, I know I am generally playing too loud. If playing a solo, wail away. In a way, the best thing to do is trust what you think you are playing. I’m not sure if it’s a good thing or a bad thing but I can usually hear it fine when I play something wrong. I guess one thing you could do to prepare is play with a CD or video and turn it up so loud you can’t hear yourself well.
Best of luck and if you find something that works let us know.