Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Guitars for Bluegrass

I have been looking for a new guitar. I have played many martins and I was wondering besides a breadnaught what other style of guitar would you use. I like the perf. art. series by martin .but, I don’t know if its right for bluegrass.I’m a beginner. I have only been learning for 5 or so month. Give me your toughts please.

I’m probably going to rub a lot of people the wrong way, but I think anyone who buys a new, expensive guitar should get one with a bolt-on neck.

I was looking at a OMCPA4 Martin. I read in the history of bluegrass that either the dreadnaught or OM model of guitars are used but you only see dreadnaught.

Looks like I will go with the D-16rgt Martin then. Have you had the chance to play one of those Ben?

Hey Jim,
I have a dreadnaught (D-18GE, mahogany), an OM (OM-18V, mahogany) and a performing artist (GPCPA3, rosewood), so I can maybe help with the comparisons a bit. As far as playability goes, any of them play bluegrass just fine. As far as tone goes, they are all different, but I like them all (to me, the D18 and the OM18 have what I would consider a fairly traditional bluegrass tone). As far as volume goes, the D-18 is very loud, the OM is reasonably loud and GPC has less volume and it doesn’t cut like some guitars. More volume is not necessarily better in all situations. If you play and sing by yourself, a flatpicked loud guitar can be too much. However, like Ol’ Ben Kenobi said, if you are going to play with others acoustically, volume is a good thing.

The PA series has great electronics. They sound incredible plugged in, they are very easy and comfortable to play and I think they are a really great all around guitar (I’ve no plans to sell mine). With that said, if you are going to focus on acoustic grass with groups, in my opinion, the PA series may not be the best suited for that particular purpose due to the lack of acoustic volume.