Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Guitar setup

When I purchased my guitars ( Martin 000-18, Taylor Mini, Zager 50CE, Zager Parlor) I had extra light strings put on them and had them setup with low action. I was a beginner, and was told this would help me not get discouraged. Well, I’ve been at this now for about a year and in a lot of ways still consider myself a beginner. Now that I have the callouses built up on my fingers and can play for longer periods of time with no discomfort, I was wondering if I should get a heavier string. Would this make my playing sound better? Also, should I have the setup with a little more action now that I have a basic foundation?
Advice please?

Do you play a lot of bar chords? If so, it may get a bit tougher to get them good and clean with a higher action and thicker strings.

I just had the action lowered on my Taylor Academy with the intent of being able to play my bars cleaner, knowing, that I won’t be able to strum as hard. (I plan on playing finger style with it and not using picks). I’m also going to put some lighter strings on when I get a chance.

I would say though, invest in some heavier strings first, and see how it feels to you. If it’s all good, then consider raising the action.

As far as raising the action, you’ll be able to play more aggressively which will give you more volume, and make the wood resonate more. Better tone…gotta love it.

Still, I think baby steps will be a good way to proceed. Strings first, then consider a higher action.

There will probably be a trade off of tone versus playability.

Wishing you the best with it. Please let us know what you found.

Jack

1 Like