Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Guitar Purchase Recommendation

While I continue working on the banjo, I want to also get started on the guitar beginner track, but I need to purchase an instrument. I can’t afford something as expensive as a Taylor or a Martin. I can probably spend around $700-$800. This would have to be my “forever” guitar, so I want to be smart about it. Can anyone recommend something?

3 Likes

Hi Dean, I am no expert when it comes to guitar’s but I am sure @BanjoBen or @Jake could bring you up to speed with a few suggestions.

Check out the General Store to see what’s available

https://store.banjobenclark.com/collections/guitars

2 Likes

One word… Eastman. Can’t recommend these “budget” guitars highly enough!! I’ve had several people think mine was a Martin before I told them otherwise :joy:

7 Likes

I think you’d be great with anything Banjo Ben sells for that price range :+1:

9 Likes

I’ve actually never tried a good guitar. Mine is like $140 :joy: I’m kinda scared to try a good one, my poor wallet has suffered enough. Plus I’m about to buy a new banjo haha.

4 Likes

Ditto, Eastman is the way to go, or Yamaha too. And like was mentioned, anything I carry in that price range is really worth it.

9 Likes

@BanjoBen Do you ever carry Blueridge guitars?

1 Like

I have an Eastman that’s awesome but I also just went in and played a Yamaha FG800 and it was going for $219 and it was awesome for that price. Not sure you’ll want it when you play the Opry but it was a fun guitar to play for the price.

4 Likes

Nvm
Just saw y’all do carry them lol
I’ve always loved blueridge guitars.
My brother has a Custom Martin D-28 and a standard dreadnought blueridge that sound shockingly close.
Guess Eastmans would probably compare to those too🤷🏻‍♂️

5 Likes

Yeah and I go back and forth b/t those two brands depending on the individual guitar. I think Eastman has an overall better fit/finish but that doesn’t mean they consistently sound better.

6 Likes