Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

G lick : hand rested or not?

Hi,
I’m sure this question has been posted a zillion times before, but here is it once again. I’m new to flatpicking, so each and every day I start my practice with the Picking Accuracy Exercise in the Beginner’s Section. It’s going fairly well, until I reach the very end. All the picking I do is with the palm of the picking hand NOT rested, so it moves freely to play the “BOOM-Chick” pattern. But the exercise ends with a G-lick, and I can’t play that lick with a free hand, so I must rest a piece of my hand on the wood in order to play the lick. Is this wrong, and should I learn to play the lick with a free hand ?
Your insights are welcome !
Tnx
Erwin - Belgium

Howdy Erwin!
The preferred thing would be to not to rest on the bridge. With that said, many people do many different things (and make great music in many various ways). Resting your hand on the bridge will ultimately limit your speed and tone. The less pressure you can place on the top the better. You can tell how much difference our arms/hands do to tone make by picking open strings while placing your left hand on various parts of the top of the guitar. People spend all kinds of money to get instruments with better tone and volume, but often small changes in technique make a greater difference than a greatly “superior” instrument.

For what it’s worth, although I try not to do so, I do end up brushing on the bridge pins often when I am picking notes out.

Best of luck with it and let us know how it goes!

Hi Mike, thanks for your reply. If I understand you correctly, you’re saying that each person has his/her own way of playing and that mine is not necessarily wrong. I rest my hand - not heavily - on the bridge pins, like you, and I don’t notice any change in tone. But maybe my hearing is not refined enough. Anyway, I’ll try to play the G-lick with a free hand, but if I don’t succeed in a week or two, I’ll stick to my hand-resting habit…
Thanks again !