Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Frustration Thy name is "C Chop Chord"

Howdy guys/gals -

I’m new to this site, but I’ve been fighting my way through learning the mandolin for 6 months or so now. It’s been a tough road, learning music, beat, notes, tabs, fingering…etc etc.

Well anyway, I’m working my way through Ben’s Mandolin Rhythm section and I’m lost on the C chop chord. Oh I can get all the strings, but I can’t seem to figure out a part of my hand to mute the E string with… Is there a 4 finger C Chop chord? Cause I’d rather do that then sit here night after night struggling to find a muting pattern.

I’ve got small hands and very thin fingers. In fact my pinky barely covers the two G strings, I’ve noticed the bottom G string is often not getting held down completely, leading to bouts of “ahh hell”.

So first, is there a 4 finger C chop chord? If so what is it please.

If not, well… I’m all ears for suggestions, I’m trying really hard to stay patient (one of the many things I like about Ben is he’s always so patient in his videos, I know cause even after 10 viewings he doesn’t get frustrated with me :wink: )

Matt

Well, I’m not much of a mandolin player so you may get a better answer than mine, but when I make a C chop chord I let my index finger, which is fretting the E note on the D string, lay lightly across both the A and E strings. Of course the A string is being fretted with a C note so it doesn’t matter that my finger lays across the string behind it, but the E string gets muted that way. Since the open E note is part of the C chord, I don’t worry if it’s not always completely muted, I just try to kill the note’s sustain.

Playing a 4 note chop chord from the second position is beyond my capabilities, but I imagine a good mando player could fret both the A and E strings at the 3rd fret with the tip of the middle finger.

Good luck!

— Begin quote from "ldpayton"