Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Flatpicking done kinda' Carter-style anyone else?

Hello one and all,
I’m a newbie on here and am so happy to belong. I been picking bluegrass style since I got a carter-style going using my fingers only by learning
Since joining though I already wonder if anyone else does flatpicking using their fingers?

I do :smiley: yup! And would be interested to know of anyone else doing this

I not entirely sure what hinderence if any it gives to my bluegrass style. I can certainly get the grooves going and I think my speed is pretty good without the pick. Makes fer a great attack on the strings though I think I may have difficulty in getting some tones to sing out at speed

Any thoughts

Cheers Gary

Lots of great bluegrass guitarists have used the thumb-and-finger Carter style picking (Lester Flatt), but usually with a thumb pick and at least one finger pick. You might give that a try if you’re concerned about volume/tone.

I love Travis picking (and related things) and still use it quite a bit. I used to do some bluegrass stuff with it. It was great for a quiet setting, but it was lost when I got involved with others using a flatpick. The volume wasn’t even close to what I needed. I tried to learn to use a thumb pick, but I didn’t stick with it long enough (and it still wasn’t as loud as a flatpick). I may go back to that someday. Anyway, for about a year and a half I have been working on flatpicking and I find I enjoy being able to do that as well as play with my fingers. Whatever you enjoy, I say go for it!

I’m starting to play bluegrass flatpicking tunes, but instead of using a flatpick, I use a thumbpick and fingerpicks.

Lester Flatt played this way, as ldpayton mentioned, but he only played rhythm. Wayne Henderson uses a very similar technique to play bluegrass flatpicking style leads, like in this video.

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EFgw_pplZ-Q&feature=related[/video]