Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Electronics for Guitar

@Jake or @BanjoBen,
Do y’all know what the additional cost would be to add a pickup in an Eastman E8D? There is a new guitar in my future, but I probably need to get the pickup so I don’t have to mic it when playing at church. What are your thoughts on a pickup vs mic on a guitar?

1 Like

Hi Brandon, I’m no pro but I’ve heard the common opinions in bluegrass are that a mic will give you a more traditional acoustic sound and a pickup sounds slightly less acoustic and more electronic, but has the advantage in that it’s more portable and easier to use. A final note, if you are thinking of getting an Eastman E8d, then do, cuz they’re great

At the end of the day and all things equal, you can’t beat a good mic sound, of course. But, when other factors are involved, the pickup is a good choice many times. We don’t typically add pickups to guitars. We may get into that in the future, and I’m pretty sure we will. I’m personally a fan of L.R. Baggs acoustic guitar pickups but there are lots of good ones.

@K_G
I hear you on the sound. We don’t do bluegrass at church so that’s not a factor. I sure wish we did do some good bluegrass hymns.

I think I’ll talk to our sound guy and see if he is ok with me using the mic every Sunday. Do y’all ever order the Eastman’s with factory pickups? If so what does that add to the cost?

I once saw a video of a guy using a small mic that clamped onto the body of the guitar next to the neck. The mic was on a flexible boom and was directed at the strings near the 12th fret. I thought it was a brilliant idea, but I’ve never seen such a set up for sale. I don’t know if it was a home made job or just never caught on.

I’ve also seen people using clip-on mics from Charlie Daniels to the US navy band and I think they’re a great idea but wouldn’t know where to get one

Just my opinion alert: