Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Doin' My Time

I worked up TR’s “Doin’ My Time” this week.

[attachment=0]Doin’ My Time.tef[/attachment]

[video]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=96E0_KhWWFA[/video]

Guitar Break at 2:52

Thanks Larry! I am a computer programmer, so you wouldn’t think I’d get tech awe very often, but sometimes things just hit me. It is incredibly useful that instead of writing this stuff out on a piece of paper, you can spend the same amount of time putting it into a program complete with ornaments, dynamics, even a backing track. You can easily share it, play it back, loop a section, speed it up, slow it down. TablEdit may not be the sexiest interface around, but that is one incredibly useful tool for a musician.

That my song right there! Love that intro and how he ends it with the F-C-G chord lick at the end there. And that lick at 1:36 - 1:37. So good.

That jazzy Tony Rice chord I was trying to figure out in the alternate chord thread was from this song.

Chord at 3:22 - 3:25

[video]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Rn6cAWreTo[/video]

— Begin quote from ____

TablEdit may not be the sexiest interface around, but that is one incredibly useful tool for a musician.

— End quote

Yep! I learned the break without tabbing it, but I know in 6 months my memory will mutate it into something different, so I went back and created the tef file for future reference.

That first album of Tony’s has so many of the licks that he became famous for, I think I might try to tab the entire album eventually, just as a lick reference.

— Begin quote from ____

even a backing track

— End quote

My backing tracks are usually done as an afterthought to aid in understanding the break. I sure didn’t put in all those cool chord substitutions in the version Shawn posted. Now I gotta try to figure those out -just when I thought I had the song learned.

Larry you are a great asset to all of us here and I thank you for your expertise and willingness to share with all .