Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Discuss the Guitar lesson: Are You Washed in the Blood Fingerstyle

https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/are-you-washed-in-the-blood-fingerstyle-guitar-advanced

Fun and challenging at the same time, this fingerstyle guitar arrangement starts in C then modulates to G! Lots of stuff is going on in this one and it’s full of tasty tidbits…give it a try, won’t you?

1 Like

I hope y’all like this one! It’s tough at first, but well worth the pursuit! If you need a starter, check out this exercise HERE!

How are y’all feeling about this one? Too tough? Just right?

Love the song, love the finger pickin’, love the lesson and love the new site.
Larry in Amarillo

1 Like

It makes me want to learn finger style.

1 Like

My biggest problem with this lesson is that it makes me want to put the banjo down. :joy:

1 Like

Ben, I’d say it’s about right. You want to make it challenging but not so much so that it’s discouraging. Being self taught on the guitar there’s a lot here for me to learn. One thing I find difficult is the bar chord and doing a hammer-on at the same time. Maybe you could give some tips and tricks on that sometime.

3 Likes

I have to agree with Wendell that the F bar chord with a hammer on is very tough for me too. My skinny index finger can’t lay down hard enough on the D# to ring out. Instead it just gets muted (thunk! thunk!)

I so want to master this wonderful tune. It just sings to me so I’m gonna keep at it. Just have to get past those two F bars! Great little arrangement!

Just curious, have you ever had your guitar professionally set up? If not, you might want to try that bar / hammer-on on a guitar that has to see if that makes a difference. If your action is too high, even professionals will have trouble playing clean bar chords.

It’s tough for me too, honestly. I have to get pretty aggressive with it. Keep working to build that strength, and as @Mark_Rocka says, make sure your guitar is set up well if not already.

1 Like