Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Developing Speed

I’ve been working on ‘Jerusalem Ridge’ off and on for about 6 months now. I have all the notes down, but none of the speed, bounce, or needless to say, the feel for the tune. I’ve been trying to slowly build up the speed, but it just hasn’t come together for me. Last night I slapped the Tony Rice version on from youtube and tried playing along. And what do you know? I’m missing a bunch of the notes, but for some reason I can get alot closer to what it’s supposed to sound like.

I hear alot about using a metronome and slowly working your way up that way. Does that really work for anyone? I don’t think I have the discipline needed to go that route. I just reach a certain speed, and something in the technique seems to need to change and I can’t find it from that direction.

Mostly just curious, I know from listening to some of you guys, that you’ve got it. So how did you do that and how long did it take? I’ve been playing guitar for 30+ years, but mostly fingerpicking, what flatpicking I’ve done has been pretty rudimentary, Carter Style stuff, so I’m hoping to eventually get that fast flatpicking going on the guitar too.

Also, it’s taken me 18 months, but I’m finally reasonably comfortable switching between that Monroe G and D chord. I still have little use for them, but it’s nice to know I’ve got them if I need them, but day-um, it took a long time to get those.

I am not a speed demon and I don’t “got it” yet, so my advice is not going to be the best. Nonetheless, here it is :smiley:

— Begin quote from "Jim_G"

I hear alot about using a metronome and slowly working your way up that way. Does that really work for anyone?

— End quote

That does work, but it takes time. Part of it is physical and part is mental. I find that I always run into some limit and then progress goes slow. I wish I knew how to short circuit the process and add 40 BPM in a week, but I don’t.