Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

D18 Report

I’ve had my D18 for a month or so now, and it’s been quite an adjustment, so here’s my report.

The dynamics on this guitar are so different from what I’ve been used to with my Takamine and Tayor, I feel like I’ve had to relearn how to play to some degree. The guitar has some great tones, but they can’t simply be beaten out of it. She responds much more nicely to a light touch. I find myself with a lighter pick grip for almost all my rhythm playing, now. And without all those rumbling overtones of rosewood, it sure is difficult to cover up slopply play. I’ve had to go back and clean up my pickin’ on several songs I thought I already had down.

The reward, of course, for handling her just right is a crystal clear ringing tone. I started trying some recording with it this week, and it records beautifully. It just about EQ’s itself.

I feel like I’m still learning what the guitar can do, but she’s definitely growing on me.

I have a D-18 GE as well. I was shocked at how easy it is to record the thing. It just sounds “right.” I just posted in another section how I am a sucker for complex overtones, but I usually end up coming back to Mahogany. Mine likes a subtle touch too, but I can whomp on it when needed and it just seems to love it.
I’ll see if I can attach something… when I first got the guitar I recorded it solo at the request of a co-worker. I used two CHEAP condenser mics: one on the lower bout and the other at the 12th fret. There are no effects or eq on the sound except a boatload of reverb (trying to match the sound of Alex Lifeson’s 12 string live sound as much as I could). I think the sound of the guitar just jumps for such a quick and simple recording.

Edit: Ooops, mp3s can’t be directly uploaded… bummer. Take my word for it… they record great.