Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Coordination issues

I’ve been playing guitar for many years but I still feel like the biggest thing holding my speed back is keeping my left and right hands in sync. I just can’t seem to to get past it. Is this a common issue? Any suggestions on how to fix this would be great.

Btw, I love the new site!

Howdy cuspclub,
First off, I’d like to say that you are not alone. For me, coordination between my right hand and my left hand improved gradually over time with practice. Repeating a song enough times that you don’t have to think about what you are playing is generally a huge part of that for me. As long as my brain is engaged in the process, I generally am more clumsy.

Another thing that has helped me is learning to be more efficient with my selection of fingerings and mechanics. When I am learning a new song, I try to take the time up front to learn what is the most efficient way to do something. I am still going to bump up against a speed wall eventually, but trying to learn it “right” the first time saves me time down the line and it probably makes the speed that I start to top out a bit faster. In the principles of learning, this general concept is called the “rule of primacy” and in my experience it is a fairly powerful thing. I wish I was more aware of this early on. I was self taught on guitar and in a short amount of time I established some habits that are taking years to undo.

I wish I could provide better insight and an easy fix, but I don’t know of one. I suspect there will be some great help coming your way on this forum from some of the other members shortly. Best of luck.