Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Chord change exercises

hi guys i’m just learning rhythm guitar, and i was wondering if anyone could suggest any chord change exercices that i could follow, i’ve got the “boom chick” but i’m a little slow with my chords.

regards brumski

Hey Brumski,
I heartily recommend Ben’s rhythm series:
banjobenclark.com/videos/45/ … hm-series/
It’s awesome. Just keep playing with him and it will come with time.

My wife is learning to play a bit. She would take her time placing each finger for the next chord. One day I told her make a G as fast as you can without looking. BOOM! G chord. Same thing with C, D, Em. She had trained herself to slow down at the chord changes. In retrospect, I think that might be kind of normal. It’s almost like you have to force yourself to trust your fingers where to go. Playing with a video or CD (or metronome seventhstring.com/metronome/metronome.html) makes you have to get the changes in a fixed time, so it’s very helpful. The nice thing about a metronome is that you can start slow and pick up the tempo in small measurable increments.
Keep at it, and you’ll get over the hump!

I like checking out the rhythm tracks on Ben’s flatpicking tef files. I think most of the tabs have them. I usually play along with just the rhythm before I even start on the lead track. Some of the rhythms are pretty neat (like Angeline the Baker).

thanks mike, i’m working along with bens rythm vids, had my guitar for one month, and i’m “boom chicking” and singing with g c d really pleased with my progress. perhaps i’m a little impatient!! gonna git me a metronome!
(rhythm, such difficult word to spell :confused: ).

regards ron

— Begin quote from "brumski"

hi guys i’m just learning rhythm guitar, and i was wondering if anyone could suggest any chord change exercices that i could follow, i’ve got the “boom chick” but i’m a little slow with my chords.

regards brumski

— End quote