Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Breaking bad pick stroke habits

This will be a bit of a long post, but I am hoping my fellow gold pick members and BanjoBen can help me out here. I am 29 years old. At age 9 I wanted to learn guitar, and I went to my Dad and he showed me the chords. I have been playing for 20 years now and absolutely love it. I became a gold pick member in the Spring of 2020 and it has been greatly beneficial to my playing. In one of BanjoBen’s beginner videos he shows the proper way to hold a pick. I realized at that point that even though I had become a fairly decent picker who had been performing Gospel music for years that my form/technique was all wrong and if I was ever gonna get past where I had plateud then I would have to break down my form to it’s core and reinvent my technique. Although it was EXTREMELY difficult, and very awkward at first, I now hold the pick the correct way and no longer plant my palm on the bridge. I had no idea my technique was so bad until Ben’s lesson pointed it out to me. I had never really thought much about it before. With all of that being said, I feel there is one more very bad habit that I am going to have to break, but I am finding it very hard and am looking for advice. I never knew about alternating pick strokes and “skipping a stroke” for slides, hammer-ons, and pulloffs. I always just picked it the best I could and did what felt natural. I am finding it really hard to think consciously to skip a stroke while playing when I do a slide, hammer-on, or pulloff. Does anyone have any advice on how to break this habit and make myself learn to do it correctly? I know I will be faster and smoother if I can get this corrected.
Thanks,
Jared H

5 Likes