Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Beginning Guitar Question

I started playing around with my wife’s guitar (it’s a smaller body Taylor GS mini). I’m just working on getting comfortable with strumming chords G/C/D/Em and transitioning between the different chords.

My question is, I feel most comfortable with the arch of the guitar on my left leg but now looking a videos I see most people put the arch on their right leg. Should I change to positioning the guitar on my right leg before muscle memory locks in too much?

3 Likes

I think you are ok. Left leg actually makes some things easier (i.e. barres). I would encourage working with a strap some to help with that transition. Universal things are make sure you have good posture, that you don’t crouch over the guitar to see the face of it (use the side markers to locate your fretting hand), relaxed shoulders.

I am sure others will think of other things

2 Likes

Thanks @Mike_R

1 Like

That small guitar feels more comfy on the left leg but a bigger guitar will want to go on the right leg. That’s my and my D-28’s experience, at least.

3 Likes

Thanks @BanjoBen, that makes sense. When I put this smaller body on my right leg it feels like the neck is “going downhill”.

3 Likes

Gotcha, yeah. I definitely don’t need yet another cause for my playing to go downhill.

7 Likes

:crazy_face:

1 Like

I have a mini. It plays very comfortably on my right leg with a strap. From Your picture, you appear to have longer arms. Considering how much shorter the mini neck is. It might work better for you that way. By the way, Taylor makes a pickup specially designed for the mini. If I remember right, it cost around 75 dollars. Super easy to install, and has a great tone.

1 Like

That for that info @Treblemaker :grinning: