Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Beginner help needed

I’m just learning the cords and I’m having difficulty. I’m trying to make a f cord . Its not working so well . I have a hard time barring the 1 2 first fret. I have extremely large hands with sort fat fingers. Is there any other way to make this f cord. Please help desperately needing help .

The F chord is tough, but once you get something that works for you, it’s no sweat. Try rotating your fretting hand (assuming you are right handed) downward (or looking at the pinky side, clockwise) so that your fingers are less upright. That is, the base knuckle of the fingers will rotate below the face of the fret board. If that doesn’t make sense let me know and I can put up a little video. If it makes sense but doesn’t help, let me know as well.

Can you make a barre chord? For some people that is the easiest, but it’s not generally the most efficient for quick changes.

I can bar and a cord because I can’t fit all three fingers in one frett. If you could I’d love to see you video ! Thank you

Hey Jim, I’m assuming you’re speaking of the four string F chord and not a six string barre chord. You most likely won’t need the barre chord in bluegrass, so if you’re having trouble barring the first and second srings at the first frets with your index finger, first try what Mike said, rotate your hand back (or down) to cause your finger to be flatter against the fretboard. If that still causes trouble, try the opposite and curl your wrist more in an upward manner (bringing your knuckles toward you) and try fretting both strings with the tip of your finger. If your fingers are big enough, this is very possible. So your wring finger is on the fourth string, third fret, middle finger on the third string second fret and your index finger fretting the first and second strings at the first fret.