Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Battle of the FINGERS vs PICK

I’m a beginner and am at a bit of a crossroads as it relates to strumming using a pick vs my fingers. I have found that when I use a pick my rhythm is choppy ( on the upstroke ) and slow. When I use my thumb and fingers everything is considerably better— rhythm, speed, and overall sound. I recognize that I give up a crisp sound when not using a pick, especially on those base strings, but strumming is so much better.
My question is this. Am I making a mistake of continuing on with my learning to strum and play rhythm with my fingers instead of a pick? I’ve been at this for about a year and I see a minimal amount of improvement with my pick playing. I was using JamPlay during this time for my lessons. Have just joined BanjoBen as a Gold Member . Have already found I like his method of teaching much better.

1 Like

It sort of comes down to what style you want to play.

If it’s Bluegrass, I might suggest going through all Ben’s rhythm lessons, giving each the time it deserves, then ask this question again after that.

If you’re switching back & forth regularly, or keep gravitating to playing with your fingers, you may just need more time with a pick in your hand.

Thanks for that comeback fiddle- wood. I have ordered serveral picks from Banjo Ben this week end based upon recommendations. Various styles and widths. I even ordered one of those $35 picks hoping for a quick fix, even though I know that won’t be the case. Just trying to give myself ever opportunity to succeed at this.
Thanks again for your response. Sounds like I need to just stay at it.

1 Like

By the way fiddle_wood, I am working through the Ben’s lessons on rythem . I’m currently on lesson 6.

1 Like

Make sure you’re holding the pick correctly, not too tight, and don’t strum hard, keep your wrist relaxed and go slowly