Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Banjo Roll Hangup

Hello, I am new to the banjo and working/practicing Ben’s “Banjo Rolls”. I seem to have a hang up with my timing and wanted to know if anyone else has run into this & has suggestions or tips to get over it.

Hard to explain but I keep hearing triplets when I attempt my 4/4 rolls. I have mental block counting “1 and, 2 and, 3 and, 4 and”.

Any help would be greatly appreciated
Thanks

Is this happening on all rolls? I can see getting a Forward or Backward roll confused with playing triplets but this shouldn’t happen on an Alternating Thumb roll.

How long have you been working on them and how many different rolls? I suggest getting one thing down correctly before starting another, or start another when you absolutely can’t stand to work on the first any more.

Rolls like any other technique take some time and many,many, many repetitions to get use to. It can take many thousand repetitions for some rolls to be in time (this is usually the case with anything for me) .

Do you have a metronome you could use? This does the counting for you…I suggest setting it at one click per note, that way there is no counting unless you have a quarter note n the roll (this would be two clicks).

You may be trying to play too fast.

Hope this helps some. Have patience, it takes a while, but getting it down right from the beginning really pays off in the long run. I might could help through Skype if you have it also.

Agree with tips Fiddlewood gave you already, these should help you. I have one more idea you could try:

Using a text instead of 1 and 2 and 3 … might help you to talk/sing the proper rhythm when you are playing the notes of the role making it easier to play them as should, best using words of 1 or 2 syllables.
E.g. I (1) Am (and) Play (2) -ing (and) on (3) my (and) ban (4) -jo (and) ; I admit, it seems stupid and you probably won’t do this when anyone’s around :sunglasses: but it does work.